Self Supported 100 mile (Pistol Ultra Virtual Race attempt) Goal Setting

I’m going to keep this direct and try not to get too detailed. The big factor for this attempt is that it will be ran on a track, or at least a really flat parking lot.

A 8:42/mile pace = 14:30

B 8:24/mile pace = 14 flat

C 8:06/mile pace = 13:30 This is what I feel would be a maximal effort but I’m including it for reference as most of my easy running is at this pace.

My test run was 20 miles in 2:35 with 8 miles on the track averaging around 7:35-40. This test was done at the most comfortable pace I could maintain and was 100% at ease. I know the pace will fall off inevitably, but with a big cushion to start off that gives some time for rest stops, aid stops, and the general slowing as fatigue builds through the day. This puts the B goal in very real contention.

I have never run a longer race on a track. The closest would be my Tunnel Hill attempt on rail trail. I was not trained at all for that and did it anyway with a few snags like not having any light for an hour or two when I miscalculated my head lamp pickup. It is not perfectly flat with a very very gradual decline/incline. I only walked a few steps of that race, and had a major stop right about a mile out for a restroom break. My starting pace was far too fast as well. If I attempted that in the shape I’m in now it would be a different story and much more manageable. Since that is my PR at 15:50, I should handily be able to outmatch that, but we will see.

A secondary way to look at the race is taking my 50 mile time from 2 years ago and doubling it. 7:15 and 7:15 = 14:30. I was not trained at all for that race and it started at 8 pm, meaning I was fighting those sleepy morning hours. I have progressed a great deal since then and am trained, so a 6:45 first 50 mile and a 7:15 final seem very realistic. I will be breaking the race up into quarter sections at 25 miles. so 3:30+3:30=7 then 3:30+3:30=7. Any time below 3:30 for 25 miles will be banked for the next.

My backup goal is 15:20, I forsee this is my stomach or muscles take a downward turn and I have to jog. This would put my attempt at the top of the fastest 100 miles run in the state and technically would be the Pistol Record, though last year another runner and myself posted top 10 times for the 50k but they are not included on Ultrasignup. I assume the same will go for this year.

Despite all that I still think putting in a good effort will give me some direction for future competitions so that is the overall purpose.

last mental note: every 6 seconds of pace = 10 minutes in a 100 mile race.

This entry was posted in goal setting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment